We use cookies to improve your experience on this website. Read More Allow Cookies

GMIT Consent Group

GMIT Consent Group

GMIT Working Group for Preventing and Responding to Sexual Violence and Harassment

The GMIT Working Group for Preventing and Responding to Sexual Violence and Harassment was established following an open call for membership in January 2021.

The remit of the Working Group is to develop and implement an action plan to achieve the objectives outlined in the Consent Framework and ‘break the bias’ by acknowledging that sexual violence and harassment is a societal problem that is taking place on our campuses and needs to be openly discussed and addressed.

The working group has developed an action plan that is progressing the implementation of the Consent Framework into the Institute's culture, processes, and policies and is delivering targeted initiatives to mainstream the Framework within the Institute. The Action Plan was submitted in March 2021 and followed up on with a Progress Report on the Implementation of the Consent Framework in December 2021. The plan commits to a zero-tolerance approach to sexual harassment, targeted initiatives and to developing an institutional sexual misconduct policy for staff and students. Significant progress has been made across the four key areas which is contributing to a safe campus culture based on respect, dignity and integrity for all staff and students. The working group is broadly representative of the Institute community of staff and students, has representation from all GMIT campuses and is gender-balanced:

  • Mary Nestor (Equality, Diversity & Inclusion)
  • Debbie Molloy (Student Services)
  • Dr Michael Hannon (Registrar)
  • Dr Trevor Clohessy (School of Business) 
  • Colin Kearney (Students’ Union)
  • Paula Cannon (Human Resources)
  • Maura Gilligan (Human Resources)
  • Monica Megraw (Student Services)
  • Anita Mahony (Student Services/Healthy Campus)
  • Kevin Gyves (School of Design & Creative Arts)
  • Dervla Fahy (Student Services)
  • Daniel Caldwell (Student Services)
  • Erin Carroll (Student representative)
  • Michelle Caulfield (Galway Rape Crisis Centre)
  • Martin Browne (Student Services)
  • Nollaig NiChartaigh (Student Services)


You do not have member access to this group