We use cookies to improve your experience on this website. Read More Allow Cookies

International Women's Day 2019

International Women's Day 2019

Celebrating inspirational role models in the technological higher education sector

 Dr Jennifer Brennan | Siobhan Cullen | Nollaig Crombie | Patricia Doherty
Dr Annie Doona | Maria DugganDr Sheila Flanagan | Dr Orla Flynn 
Dr Joanne Gallagher | Professor Yvonne Galligan  | Dr Frances Hardiman | Dr Edel Healy
Professor Colette Henry  |  Dr Allison Kenneally | Maria Kyne 
Dr Siobhán Mac SweeneyProfessor Jacqueline McCormack | Irene McCausland
Dr Patricia Moriarty | Dr Patricia MulcahyUna Parsons | Cait Noone | Dr Áine Ní Shé

Dr Jennifer Brennan, Director of Research, Development and Innovation THEA

Prior to joining THEA, Jennifer was Ireland’s National Contact Point for the European Marie Skłodowska-Curie Actions (MSCA) funding programme. She represents Ireland’s interests in the MSCA programme as National Delegate to the MSCA Programme Committee.

Dr Jennifer Brennan

Siobhan Cullen, Head of Department of Law & Humanities, LYIT

Siobhan Cullen is Head of Department of Law & Humanities at LYIT which offers a range of programmes in Law, Sport, Languages, Teaching & Learning & Governance & Compliance.

Siobhan Cullen

Nollaig Crombie, Head of Department, Design & Creative Media, LYIT

Nollaig has been with LYIT since 1992 and became Head of Department in 2005. Since then she has overseen many changes within the Department of Design & Creative Media 

Nollaig Crombie

Patricia Doherty, Head of Department of Business Studies LYIT

Patricia Doherty is Head of Department of Business Studies at LYIT. Patricia was previously Head of Department of Business at IT Sligo and TU Dublin – Blanchardstown Campus. 

Patricia Doherty, LYIT

Dr Annie Doona, President, IADT

Dr Annie Doona is the current President of IADT. Her role entails strategic leadership and direction, development of the Institute as well as representing IADT at national and international level. 

Dr Annie Doona

Marian Duggan, Dean, Flexible Learning & VP Equality & Diversity, LIT

Maria joined LIT on September1, 2001 as Lecturer in Accounting & Finance. Appointed to position of Head of School of Business & Humanities on September 1, 2005

Marian Duggan

Dr Sheila Flanagan, VP and Registrar, DKIT

Dr Flanaganis a member of the Executive Board of the Institute and is responsible for the leadership and coordination of the Institute’s academic policy and quality assurance through the Institute’s Academic Council.

Dr Sheila Flanagan

Dr Orla Flynn, VP External Affairs, CIT

Dr Flynn has more than seventeen years’ experience in education management roles at CIT where she led the CIT Crawford College of Art and Design for 8 years following successful periods as Head of School of Humanities and Head of Department of Media Communications.

Dr Orla Flynn

Dr Joanne Gallagher, Head of Department of Science, LYIT

Dr Gallagher is a Molecular Cell Biologist with research interests in inflammatory biology, investigating the molecular mechanisms of Rheumatoid Arthritis

International Women's Day 2019

Professor Yvonne Galligan, Director of Equality, Diversity & Inclusion at TU Dublin

As Professor of Comparative Politics, Professor Galligan has published widely on gender and politics, democracy, and the gendered nature of power.  

Yvonne Galligan

Dr Frances Hardiman, Head of Faculty, Engineering, IT Carlow

Dr. Frances Hardiman is a graduate of the University of Limerick where she attained a first class honours degree in Production Engineering and a PhD in Engineering

Dr Frances Hardiman

Dr Edel Healy, Head of School, Health & Science, DKIT

Dr Edel Healy is Head of School of Health and Science at DkIT. She plays a key role in the academic management and strategic direction of the School and is project lead for the TEAM project. A Pharmacologist by background, Edel previously worked in the HSA and Research for UCD.

Dr Edel Healy

Dr Allison Kenneally, Director, Office of Equality, Diversity and Inclusion, IT Carlow

Dr. Kenneally holds a Doctorate in Higher Education Management from the University of Bath. Her research focuses on Mergers, Change Management and System Reconfiguration in Higher Education, with a particular focus on the Irish Institute of Technology sector

Dr. Allison Kenneally

Maria Kyne, Dean of Faculty of Applied Science, Engineering & Technology LIT.

Maria is Dean of Faculty of Applied Science, Engineering & Technology LIT. Maria is a Chartered Engineer and Fellow of Engineers Ireland and havs worked as a civil engineer for over 30 years

Marie Kyne

Dr Siobhán Mac Sweeney, Head of Research and Technology Transfer, IT Tralee

Dr Mac Sweeney has over 20 years’ experience working on national and international projects in both the pharmaceutical industry and in academia.

Dr Siobhán Mac Sweeney

Professor Jacqueline McCormack, VP Online Development, IT Sligo

She has responsibility for driving forward the Institute’s ambitious plans for continued growth in online/blended learning and for the management of Information Technology Services. She is also Equality, Diversity & Inclusion sponsor on the Institute’s Executive

Professor Jacqueline McCormack

Irene McCausland, VP Strategic Planning, Communications & Development at DKIT.

As a member of the Senior Leadership Team, she is responsible for Strategic Planning, Enterprise Development, External Engagement, Lifelong Learning, Capital Development and Marketing & Communications.

Irene McCausland

Dr Patricia Moriarty, Head of School of Business & Humanities, DKIT

Previous roles include lecturer, Head of Department, Head of Research & Policy and Registrar. Patricia is a Registered Psychologist with a research interest in emotional intelligence & Organisational Psychology

Dr Patricia Moriarty

Dr Patricia Mulcahy, President, IT Carlow

her current role as President of Institute of Technology Carlow, she has overseen the development of Institute of Technology Carlow to its current position as the second largest of the eleven Institutes of Technology in Ireland in 2018/19,, with campuses in Carlow, Wexford and Wicklow,

Dr Patricia Mulcahy

Una Parsons, Head of Faculty, Engineering & Design, IT Sligo

Una is an experienced and award-winning Chartered Engineer and Fellow of Engineers Ireland,. Prior to her current position she held that of Head of Department of Mechanical & Electronic Engineering since 2012

Una Parsons

Professor Colette Henry, Head of Dpt, Business Studies, DKIT

Professor Colette Henry is Head of Department of Business Studies at DkIT & Adjunct Professor of Entrepreneurship at UiT-The Arctic University of Norway. Her previous leadership roles include Acting Head of School of Business & Humanities at DkIT, Norbrook Professor of Business & Enterprise at Royal Veterinary College, London and President of the Institute for Small Business & Entrepreneurship (ISBE, London).

Professor Colette Henry

Cait Noone, VP International & Engagement - GMIT

Cáit has worked in Higher Education since 1993. She joined Galway Mayo Institute of Technology in November 2007 and now has responsibility for International Engagement across the Institute.

Cait Noone

Dr Áine Ní Shé, Registrar & VP for Academic Affairs, CIT

Dr Ní Shé has Institute-wide responsibility for academic affairs and for services supportive of the academic programme. Áine is also a member of the Institute’s Athena SWAN Self-Assessment Team and represents CIT on the National Athena SWAN Committee. 

Dr Áine Ní Shé

You do not have member access to this group